Food brings people together

With her blog «Eat Better Not Less», Nadia wants to teach people that healthy food is in no way boring. Her recipes inspire people to create simple, healthy and, above all, tasty food. 

How do you come up with your kitchen creations?

I always think in colours and images. Normally, I have an image of each dish on the plate in my head before I even begin cooking. I also have the feeling that I’ve already tasted each flavour before I’ve begun cooking – this way, I can already tell if certain flavours go together or not. In the end it always turns out a bit differently, but the basic idea and taste is in my head.

What ingredients have you «newly» discovered in your kitchen?

I went travelling recently and discovered lots of new ingredients that I can get creative with. From plantain to white corn, sweet granadillas to cherimoya, and back to dragon fruit and Indian spices.

Aside from salt and pepper, what are the most important spices in the kitchen?

Dukkah à la Nadia! It’s a «variable»  spice mix that can include anything from 15 to 25 different ingredients – depending on what I feel like. It’s delicious and suits almost all savoury dishes and even the occasional porridge or anything similar!

Your «happy soul food» ?

Homemade Paccheri pasta or slightly thicker Linguine ai Nero di Sepia with lots of garlic, good olive oil, sweet Datterini tomatoes and seafood. Mmmm, that’s the real deal! Or a good piece of fish with a tasty puree and lots of vegetables. Other than that, hot chocolate à la Nadia in winter. Oh, and Vietnamese Bahn Cuon, which is steamed rice papers filled with tofu or vegetables with a delicious sauce. I could eat a thousand of these! And finally, banana ice cream is always a real treat!

Which food blogs do you follow?

On Instagram I enjoy @elsas_wholesomelife, @talinegabriel, @nourish_atelier, @gkstories and a few more. I love a good mix of food and lifestyle. I particularly like when you can get a feel for the person behind it and you can identify with them. 

 

I would love to cook together with Jamie Oliver. You can really feel his passion!

Nadia Damaso

Wholegrain Spirelli with avocado mousse and baby Zuchetti.
Blueberry crunch with peanut, maca and banana ice cream
Pecan and almond tart with coconut and thyme ice cream

All recipes from Nadia

You are not logged in

Now you can user your Supercard ID to log in to FOOBY easily and conveniently and make use of all the functions and advantages.

Choose a cookbook:

This cookbook already exists.

Delete the entire recipe?

Do you really want to delete this recipe from your cookbook?

Successfully saved!

Saving failed!

Essen bringt Menschen zusammen

Nadia möchte den Menschen mit ihrem Blog «Eat Better Not Less» zeigen, dass gesundes Essen keinesfalls langweilig ist! Ihre Rezepte sollen dazu inspirieren, einfache, gesunde und vor allem leckere Rezepte zu kreieren, die Farbe und Vielfalt auf den Teller bringen.

Wie entstehen deine Küchenkreationen?

Ich denke in Farben und Bildern. Meist habe ich die Gerichte also bildlich auf dem Teller schon im Kopf, ehe ich sie koche. Und ich habe das Gefühl, die verschiedenen Geschmäcker schon gekostet zu haben, bevor ich losgekocht habe. So kann ich auch einschätzen, ob etwas zusammen passt oder nicht. Es kommt dann schlussendlich immer noch ein bisschen anders, doch die Grundidee und Geschmäcker entstehen im Kopf.

Welche Zutaten hast du in letzter Zeit «neu» für dich entdeckt?

Oh, ich war gerade auf Reisen und habe unglaublich viele spannende neue Zutaten entdeckt, mit denen man sehr kreativ sein kann. Von Kochbananen über weissen Mais, Granadillas und Cherymoyas bis hin zu roter Drachenfrucht und indischen Gewürzen.

Das wichtigste Gewürz in deiner Küche – neben Salz und Pfeffer? 

Dukkah alla Nadia! Das ist eine «variable» Gewürzmischung, die zwischen 15 und 25 verschiedene Zutaten enthält – je nachdem, wie ich mich gerade fühle. Sie ist unglaublich gut und passt zu allem, was salzig ist oder als Abwechslung auch super auf ein Porridge oder ähnliches.

Dein «Happy Soul Food»? 

Hausgemachte Paccheri oder etwas dickere Linguine ai Nero di Sepia mit viel Knoblauch, gutem Olivenöl, süssen Datterini Tomaten und Meeresfrüchten. Mhhhm, das finde ich mega! Oder ein gutes Stück Fisch mit einem leckeren Püree und viel Gemüse dazu. Ausserdem: Heisse Schoggi alla Nadia im Winter! Oh, und Vietnamesische Bahn Cuon. Das sind gedämpfte und gefüllte  Reiscrêpes (bei mir mit Tofu & Gemüse) mit einer megaleckeren Sauce. Davon könnte ich tausend Stück essen! Und zum guten Schluss: Bananenglace, das geht auch immer! 

Welchen Foodbloggern folgst du selbst?

Auf Instagram mag ich @elsas_wholesomelife, @talinegabriel, @nourish_atelier, @gkstories und einige mehr. Ich habe gern eine Mischung aus Food und Lifestyle. Ich finde es schön, wenn man die Person dahinter auch etwas spürt und sich mit ihr identifizieren kann.

Ich würde gern mal mit Jamie Oliver zusammen kochen. Ich finde, bei ihm spürt man die Leidenschaft immer noch!

Nadia Damaso

Vollkorn-Spirelli mit Avocadomousse und Baby-Zucchetti
Heidelbeer-Crunch mit Erdnuss-Maca Bananenglace
Pekannuss-Mandel Tartes mit Kokosnuss-Thymian Glace

Alle Rezepte von Nadia

Bitte einloggen

Jetzt einfach und bequem mit Ihrer Supercard ID bei FOOBY einloggen und alle Funktionen und Vorteile nutzen.

Kochbücher auswählen:

Dieses Kochbuch existiert bereits.

Inhalt ganz entfernen?

Möchtest du diesen Inhalt wirklich aus all deinen Kochbüchern entfernen?

Erfolgreich gespeichert!