«Not a day passes that doesn't involve food and cooking for me»

Cooking and travel – the two go hand in hand for Andreas Halter. As head chef at Tropenhaus Wohlhusen, his enthusiasm for all kinds of different flavours ties in perfectly with his passion for far-away countries: the Mahoi restaurant, which has earned 14 Gault Millau points, is famous for combining tropical and Swiss ingredients. 

How did you become a chef?

From a young age, I was an extremely picky and critical eater. By the time I was about ten years old, my parents had had enough. They presented me with a cookery book and told me to try cooking for the family, so I would realize what was involved. But I loved it so much that it became a hobby and, later, a career.

What is your favourite food nowadays?

I don't have one, I'd have to list 100 dishes. I love variety and diversity. But it's great to have a different favourite, depending on the season and your mood. To have an absolute craving for a particular dish one day, but want something completely different the next.

How do your culinary creations start?

With various influences. While travelling, when I discover something completely new. With an individual product or a combination of flavours I'm keen to interpret. Or when I'm wandering through the Tropenhaus and am confronted with all the products on offer. I will then usually decide to work with a particular product and create a dish around it. When I do that, I often imagine how it will taste – and it usually works. 

What music do you listen to when cooking?

Jazz, funk, hip hop and rock. I always have to have music playing while I'm cooking, as I use it as inspiration.

Do you have a favourite cooking buddy?

My two-and-a-half year-old daughter. But not because she's a great help to me. It's just wonderful to see how much she enjoys simply washing the salad, or spinning it. She bombards me with questions all the time. So there's never a dull moment in the kitchen. 

Do you prefer to cook alone or with others?

At home, I'd rather cook alone, because I can go at my own pace and have a greater sense of freedom. I love cooking for other people. But nobody apart from my daughter is allowed in the kitchen while I am cooking. At work, however, it's a completely different story. There's a clear division of labour and I simply couldn't cope by myself.

For whom would you like to have the opportunity to cook?

Any cosmopolitan foodie.

Which kitchen utensil could you not do without?

The Microplane.

What's the most important spice or seasoning in your kitchen? (Other than salt and pepper)

Cumin. It's a spice that is grossly underrated in Switzerland and lots of people confuse it with caraway - though in reality they are completely different. Cumin is absolutely essential in exotic cooking. 

Do you have a «secret ingredient» that gives your dishes that special edge?

I love the zest of all citrus fruits. It gives so many dishes a wonderful, light flavour, packed with freshness.

What is your best cooking memory?

My proudest cooking memory was the first time I succeeded in making my own tempeh. I discovered tempeh in Indonesia and was determined to learn how to make it myself. After at least 5 failed attempts, everyone told me I should just call it a day, but at last I got the hang of it. Since then, it's worked every time. So: never give up!   


  

Cooking and eating is and always has been one of the most important things in my life.

Andreas Halter

RECIPES FROM ANDREAS

You are not logged in

Now you can user your Supercard ID to log in to FOOBY easily and conveniently and make use of all the functions and advantages.

Choose a cookbook:

This cookbook already exists.

Delete the entire recipe?

Do you really want to delete this recipe from your cookbook?

Successfully saved!

Saving failed!

«Es vergeht kein Tag, an dem ich mich nicht mit Kulinarik befasse»

Kochen und Reisen – diese Dinge gehören für Andreas Halter zusammen. Als Küchenchef im Tropenhaus Wolhusen kann er seine Begeisterung für Aromen aller Art perfekt mit seiner Leidenschaft für ferne Länder ergänzen: Das mit 14 Gault Millau Punkten ausgezeichnete Restaurant Mahoi ist bekannt für seine Kombination aus tropischen und heimischen Zutaten. 

Wie bist du zum Kochen gekommen?

Ich war seit klein auf ein äusserst heikler Esser, der gerne kritisiert hat. Als ich etwa zehn Jahre alt war, hat es meinen Eltern gereicht. Sie schenkten mir ein Kochbuch und meinten, ich solle doch mal für die Familie kochen, damit ich sehe, was es bedeutet. Ich fand jedoch so viel Gefallen und Freude daran, dass es zum Hobby und später zum Beruf wurde.

Was ist heute dein Lieblingsessen?

Das gibt es nicht, oder ich müsste an die 100 Gerichte aufzählen. Ich liebe die Abwechslung und die Vielfalt. Es ist doch toll, je nach Saison und Stimmung einen anderen Favoriten zu haben. An einem Tag total das Verlangen nach einem Gericht zu haben und am nächsten Tag wieder ein komplett anderes zu wollen.  

Wie entstehen deine Küchenkreationen?

Durch verschiedenste Einflüsse. Auf Reisen, bei denen ich etwas komplett Neues kennenlerne. Durch ein einzelnes Produkt oder eine Kombination von Geschmäckern, die ich umsetzen möchte. Oder indem ich durchs Tropenhaus laufe und alle Produkte direkt vor mir sehe. Ich entscheide mich dann meist, mit einem speziellen Produkt zu arbeiten, und baue ein Gericht damit auf. Ich spiele dann oft im Kopf schon durch, wie es schmecken wird – und meistens klappt das auch. 

Welche Musik hörst du beim Kochen?

Jazz, Funk, HipHop und Rock. Bei mir muss beim Kochen immer Musik laufen, denn sie dient mir auch als Inspiration.

Hast du einen Lieblingskochpartner?

Meine zweieinhalbjährige Tochter. Aber nicht, weil sie mir eine grosse Hilfe ist. Es ist einfach toll zu sehen, wie viel Freude es ihr macht, auch nur den Salat zu waschen, oder ihn auszuschleudern. Sie durchlöchert mich immer mit allen möglichen Fragen. So ist immer viel Action in der Küche. 

Lieber alleine oder mit anderen zusammen kochen?

Zuhause lieber alleine, so kann ich mein eigenes Tempo fahren und fühle mich viel freier. Ich liebe es, für andere zu kochen. Aber während des Kochens hat ausser meiner Tochter niemand in der Küche Zutritt. Bei der Arbeit ist es jedoch etwas komplett anderes. Dda gibt es eine klare Arbeitsaufteilung und ich könnte alleine nichts erreichen.

Wen würdest du gern mal bekochen?   

Jeden weltoffenen Geniesser.

Welches Küchenutensil ist für dich unentbehrlich? 

Die Microplane.

Das wichtigste Gewürz in deiner Küche? (Salz und Pfeffer mal ausgeschlossen)

Kreuzkümmel. Ein Gewürz, das in der Schweiz komplett unterschätzt wird und viele Leute mit Kümmel verwechseln. Denn die beiden haben nichts gemeinsam. Für die exotische Küche ein absolutes Muss.

Hast du eine «geheime Zutat», die deinen Gerichten den speziellen Pfiff verleiht?

Ich liebe alle Arten von Zitrusschalen. Sie verleihen vielen Gerichten ein tolles und leichtes Aroma mit viel Frische.

Was ist deine schönste Kocherinnerung?

Meine tollste Kocherinnerung war, als es mir zum ersten Mal gelang, selbst Tempeh herzustellen. Ich habe Tempeh in Indonesien kennen gelernt und wollte die Herstellung unbedingt selbst beherrschen. Als es sicherlich 5-mal misslang und alle um mich herum schon gesagt haben, ich solle es doch sein lassen, hatte ich endlich den Dreh raus. Seitdem klappt es jedes Mal. Deshalb: nie aufgeben!   

Kochen und Essen ist und war schon immer etwas vom Wichtigsten in meinem Leben.

Andreas Halter

Bitte einloggen

Jetzt einfach und bequem mit Ihrer Supercard ID bei FOOBY einloggen und alle Funktionen und Vorteile nutzen.

Kochbücher auswählen:

Dieses Kochbuch existiert bereits.

Inhalt ganz entfernen?

Möchtest du diesen Inhalt wirklich aus all deinen Kochbüchern entfernen?

Erfolgreich gespeichert!